some baking, some knitting, and some quilting

I know, I know.  I took all last week off, so the last thing I should be doing right now is taking a break from dissertation writing in order to write a new blog post.  But well, it’s summer, and I have some new photos, and dissertation writing can be such a drag.  So I’ll keep it short, and then get back to the grind.

Last week I had the pleasure of traveling with my family to Topsail Island, NC.  A few of us make this pilgrimage every year and enjoy a week of laying on the beach, working puzzles, and cooking delicious food.  This year, I owed my mom a Mother’s Day dessert since I wasn’t able to go home on the big day.  Her request: pie in a cake.  I tackled this confection twice before thanks to the lovely recipes over here, and was very excited to see the recently added recipe for blueberry pie cupcakes with lemon curd frosting.

Since I got a bit of a sunburn the first day at the beach thanks to aged sunscreen, I didn’t mind spending the day in the kitchen.  So with the help of my niece and mom, I started by making mini blueberry pies from scratch.  I combined a few recipes and used my old standby, the Epicurious best pie crust ever recipe, for the crust.

My mom and I had purchased the perfect summery cupcake wrappers before the trip.  

    

I made the vanilla cake batter and filled each cup with a heaping tablespoon of batter, and then dropped in the pies.  Cover the top with more batter, and voila!

We served them up with lemon curd the first day.  I used Martha Stewart’s lemon curd recipe.  I’m always amazed how quick and easy it is to make lemon curd because it issome of the tastiest stuff on earth.

We had a great week at the beach, and when we returned, I was happy I had a chance to block a sweater I made for my mom this spring, the Sea and Surf Sweater (pattern by Nicole LaRoche in Debbie Stoller’s Stitch n Bitch Superstar Knitting book).  My mom and I were leafing through the book in a local craft store, and both loved the sweater.

The color and yarn were so perfect in the original pattern (Blue Sky Organic cotton in Azul) that we decided to stick with it.  Here is the sweater being blocked just before I left WV to head back to Michigan.  I can’t wait to post a photo of my mom modeling it!

I love the wave pattern!

Finally, I just finished a quilt last night for my cousin Katrina’s new baby, Gideon.  I haven’t washed it yet, so it’s a little wrinkly.  But I thought I’d post up a few shots anyway.

I used some leftover Castle Peeps fabric because I love it so much, and finally made my first zig zag quilt! Here are some close-ups.

I can’t wait to meet Gideon and give him his quilt.

 

Oh, one more thing. Some shots from the garden.  When I left for North Carolina, the tomato plants had beautiful flowers on them.  Have you ever looked at a tomato flower up close?

And when I returned, there were a ton of young, green tomatoes!

 

Okay, back to work.  I leave you with a preview of quilts to come…the first two fabrics selected for the Pirate’s Daughter Quilt.  Hope everyone has a great week!

About mollyhat

I play roller derby under the name The Mad Hatcher. I like to sew and make quilts. I like to make tasty foods. And I like writing about these things!
This entry was posted in Cookin', Knittin', Quiltin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to some baking, some knitting, and some quilting

  1. Judy says:

    love, love Sue’s sweater – both the color and design

    • mollyhat says:

      Thank you! She has impeccable taste, doesn’t she? I was so relieved when she called last week to said it fit perfectly! Can’t wait to see it on her.

Leave a Reply

