High Line Quilt, part one

When I was in Toronto, I picked up some great fabrics, many of which I featured on my last post.  I hinted at some additional fabric purchases that completed my Kona cotton spectrum for an anniversary gift for my husband.  Now they shall be revealed!

When my husband and I went to NYC in May, our friends took us to visit The High Line, a station for the New York freight system in the 1930s that has since been transformed into an amazing public park in Manhattan.  It was such an awesome place, and one part of it in particular really struck me.

When I saw this gorgeous industrial stained glass window, I knew it had to be transformed into a quilt.  And since it was our first trip together as a married couple, I thought the quilt might make a good anniversary gift for my husband.  So, I began looking at Kona cotton colors, and decided on this spectrum (chocolate, mocha, taupe, khaki, white, ash, sky, ice frappe, parsley, olive, avocado, buttercup, canary, school bus, red, crimson, and eggplant).

(Thanks to my friend Natalie of Greenleaf Goods for donating the mocha and sky to my collection.)

I finally finished cutting the squares yesterday and began to play with the arrangement.

I was so excited when I placed the top squares of the quilt.  I love the way the blues, greens, and browns came together.  I didn’t like the bottom as much, though, and I think I need a more subtle gradation of color.  So, I’m headed to the local fabric shop today to see if I can find something in a terra cotta shade, and also perhaps a reddish brown.

I plan on sashing with a dark grey for the casing and grills that will frame each colored pane (about an inch), and an even darker grey for the area around and between the windows (the brick part of the actual High Line window).  Still wondering if I shouldn’t just use one shade of grey for the entire thing instead of distinguishing between the casing and the brick.  I don’t want to do too literal of a translation of The High Line window onto my fabric.  What do you think?

8 thoughts on “High Line Quilt, part one

  1. Molly, I *love* this! I see what you mean about the color issue– the kona in “schoolbus” almost looks yellow in this photo, so having something more reddish-orange could definitely bridge that gap. I also think this would look fabulous if you sash all in one color of gray, but if you used something just a hint darker for the casing (the smaller sashing pieces between the windows, right?) I think it would make the colors really pop– especially those light colors at the top. The juxtaposition of the darker gray would look really amazing! Also– where did you lay all those blocks out for your photo?! It looks great!

    • Yeah, I think the boldness of the school bus throws things off- the change from greens and browns to reds and oranges needs to be more gradual. Also, I’m using brown as the dark color in the bottom rows and I think I need to use a dark reddish brown instead. Thanks for the suggestions! I put all the blocks down on my floor upstairs!

  2. It’s gorgeous! I agree that you need some terra cotta type colors in the bottom. I like the dark and darker greys. I’m so impressed with your talent and sense of design.

  3. First of all, I love the High Line so much. It’s truly a remarkable park.
    Second, this quilt is going to be fabulous! I’m all about gray sashing right now, so I think that will look great. I defer to Natalie for more specific advice, she’s got a great eye. Yay for quilting!

    • Thanks, Melissa! Me either! Hoping the last of the fabrics arrives in the mail today! Also, I just finished piecing the top of another baby quilt. I hope to put pictures of that up soon.

Leave a Reply

