Quilts and quilts and derby!

It’s been a long time, dear readers.  Between derby practices and family visits, I’ve been skimping on blog time.  So, time to catch up.  I finished my new little cousin’s quilt last week and mailed it out to him on Saturday.  Declan is the sweetest little guy and I can’t wait to make a trip out west to meet him.  Until then, I hope he’ll have some use for his new blankie.

In other news, I’m making a tiny bit of progress on the High Line quilt for my husband.  I got a few new colors of Kona cotton and mixed them in.  And I also got some light grey quilter’s linen for the sashing that basically creates the window casings.  I have almost completed two of the windows now.

I’m so happy with it.  All I want to do is finish piecing it!  Can’t wait to see how it all looks when I’ve put the whole top together.  Then I have to decided how to quilt the thing.  Feel free to make suggestions.

I had such a great time with my mom and mother-in-law who came to visit this weekend.  My mother-in-law bought me a bag of beautiful already-pieced dresden squares from an antique shop that showcase the most amazing variety of vintage fabrics.  I can’t wait to iron them out and post some pictures.

Besides shopping and eating delicious food, the fam also came up to attend my derby bout!  I played with our league’s B-level travel team, the Motor City Dissasembly Line.  We lost to Tri-City Rollers from Ontario by only 12 points.  I’d probably be disappointed by the loss, but I had so much with my team and our awesome managers, and we did come back from a 60-point deficit at the half, so I can’t be too upset.  Will post pictures from the bout soon!

3 thoughts on “Quilts and quilts and derby!

  1. You are amazing. Love Declan’s quilt and your choice of colors. I’m working on a quilt for a friend that is golds, olive and black. I want to see the window pane quilt when it’s finished

  2. That means a lot coming from such a quilter as yourself! And you are one of the primary reasons I’ve even been able to get into quilting the way I have! So thank you.

    I finished assembling Casey’s quilt top this weekend, so I’m due to post pictures! I just can’t make a decision about what to back it with. I’d better hurry up and decide because our anniversary is just around the corner. Golds, olive and black- that sounds like a regal color combination. I hope you’ll post pictures when it’s complete!

  3. Pingback: A quilt for my buddy Rylan | The Mad Crafter

Leave a Reply

