gifts given, gifts received

Hope everyone had a great holiday!  I wanted to wrap up the holiday by including some more photos of gifts I made for friends and family.

Here is a photo of the quiltlet I made for my friend, Anne, who sent me an awesome quilting book for Christmas:

I also made some urban necessity fingerless gloves for my brother-in-law to compliment the Turn A Square cap I made for him last Christmas (don’t have a pic of it, so I linked to the ravelry pattern):

I also completed a quilt for my dad.  My mom had stored his old wool suits from the 70s and 80s, and I cut them up to create blocks for the quilt- some whole blocks and some pieced.  Here are some post-basting, pre-quilting pictures:

I even used some of the pockets and flaps in the quilt blocks:

I was in such a rush to get it to him that I forgot to take a finished shot of the quilt, but my aunt snapped one on Christmas day when I was finishing the binding, which I made out of 4 of my dad’s old ties, all in a red colorway:

I am so grateful for the wonderful gifts that my friends and family gave me, and thought I’d post some of them here.  My mother knew that all I really wanted for Christmas was skate gear and fabric, so she was kind enough to give me some money to spend at my favorite fabric store in Columbus, Sew to Speak.  I had so much fun picking out fabrics and patterns (including Denyse Schmidt’s Single Girl quilt pattern, which I have wanted for months!).  I finally rounded out my collection of Anna Marie Horner’s Innocent Crush line and already cut out the blocks so I could assemble a Kitchen Window quilt thanks to Elizabeth Hartman’s pattern in her awesome new book.  Here are some pics of the blocks:

I have all of the blocks cut, but haven’t chosen solids yet for the frames or the sashing.  I’m conflicted about what colors to use.  I think I’ll wait till I get my next paycheck, purchase some contenders, and then ask you, dear readers, for some help in the selection process.

Also, a thank you to both my aunt and mother-in-law who hooked me up this holiday season with sewing machine help and everything I could ever want to make my sewing/quilting experience the best it could possibly be.  I got a sewing machine maintenance lesson, oil, canned air, tools, new scissors and rotary cutters, batting, a variety of threads, an ott light (amazing!), various storage containers, magazines, and the list goes on and on.  Such kind and generous ladies.  I’m lucky to have them in my life.

Another quick mention…my friend Alison sent me the Gourmet Magazine cookie book, which collects Gourmet’s cookie recipes from the last 60 or so years.  Yeah…pretty awesome, right?  I had the pleasure of making my first batch of cookies from it last night, Aunt Sis’s Strawberry Tart Cookies.  They are heavenly.  And if you want to make some without having to purchase the cookbook, you can find the recipe here.  They are displayed below on my new set of Fiestaware  (paprika!), another gift from my fabulous mother-in-law, a fellow collector of Fiesta who keeps me well-stocked.

Okay, I’m pretty sure this is the longest blog post ever, but that’s what happens when you don’t blog for a few weeks.  One more thing, though- a taste of what’s to come.  I’m working on a baby quilt for my lovely friends Danny and Sarah using some fabrics from Heather Ross’s Macaroni Love Story line, as well as a baby quilt and lap quilt using beautiful vintage dresdens:

I hope everyone is enjoying the first days of the new year!

4 thoughts on “gifts given, gifts received

  1. ooooooooooh!!! I loved the long post and seeing all of your gifts! I bet your dad loved the quilt — what a creative idea!
    Happy Crafting New Year! Hope to see more inspiring posts (AND YOU) soon! Love ya.

    • Melissa, I love that you read my blog and that you leave comments for me . Thank you so much. I hope you and the fam had a wonderful holiday and we really should plan a craft weekend some time when things thaw out!

Leave a Reply

