Detroit Derby Girls quilt block

A few months ago, I caught wind of a roller derby quilt!  Its creator, Dreadnought, of the Boston Derby Dames, welcomes blocks from leagues all around the world.  I emailed her to see if Detroit had submitted a block.  In fact, DDG has not submitted a block!  So, I got to working on it asap.

Here is what I came up with:

I wanted to incorporate a ton of patchwork because or league is made up of such a diverse group of women and I thought combining a number of small pieces could be one way of demonstrating that.  All of the little pieces are 1-inch x 2-inch.

For the center and some of the pieces with DDG wording on them, I cut up one of our league bandanas.

The other fabrics were just all from my stash- maybe you recognize some Tufted Tweets, Kona cotton in red, and some Birch circa 50 in there.

I also included some Alexander Henry from the Ghastlies line (one of my favorites) and some cute sushi fabrics I picked up from JoAnn years ago.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and I can’t wait to send it off to Dreadnought this afternoon!

5 thoughts on “Detroit Derby Girls quilt block

  1. Way to raise the bar for the other leagues, Molly!! This square is kick-ass! Love it. I clicked on the derby quilt link and plan on keeping tabs. It will be fun to watch the quilt grow.

  2. Isn’t that quilt so cool?! I was so excited when I found out about this- something that combines two of my very favoritest things! I hope the DDG one will add a little variety – tried to do something a little different.

  3. I really, really like your derby block. So when are you going to make yourself a derby quilt? And A.L.D. gown is sooo cute. She’ll love it.

  4. Thank you, Judy! I just put something in the mail for you- have been wanting to blog about it, but figured I’d better wait until you get it! And I really want to do a derby quilt- maybe I’ll just start making blocks over time and put them all together some day.

    Can’t wait to see pics of Amelia and all her dolls in those dresses! My mom told her the other day that she wanted to make some matching dresses for her and the dolls, and she said , ‘Yaya, you know I have three now, right?” 🙂

  5. Pingback: Roller Derby Quilt! « The Mad Crafter

Leave a Reply

