Welcome, Miss Lily!

My cousin Tommy and his wonderful wife Melissa just welcomed a new little gal into the world.  Tommy and Melissa (and their two little boys Hudson and Ty) are some of my absolute favorite people, so I knew I had to make something special for their new addition.  Melissa and I have been talking about quilting a little these days, and she told me not long ago that she likes vintage fabrics, so I knew I would finally be putting those vintage dresden plates that my mother-in-law purchased for me to good use.

When Nancy bought these dresdens for me, I immediately recalled a quilt by Aneela Honey of comfortstitching called the dresden love story:

I’ve been wanting to make one ever since I saw Aneela’s quilt– I love the way it takes an old, traditional quilt pattern and deconstructs it, makes it into something modern.  So, here is the quilt I made for Lily that is inspired from the dresden love story:

I quartered each dresden and blind-stitched a center onto each one (I chose a vintage-looking red/pink fabric to compliment the colors and patterns in the dresdens).  Then I appliqued each piece onto an 8″ x 8″ blush-colored square.  Then added Kona snow cotton sashing, did some quilting, slapped on a binding, and voila!

I usually just do straight-line quilting, but I decided to be a little more adventurous and outline the points of the dresdens and the round centers.  I was really happy with how it turned out.

And for the back I found this perfect yellow fabric with pink flowers that have reddish centers.  I sometimes have a problem choosing backing fabric, but this one jumped off of the shelves at me.  It couldn’t have been more perfect.

If this quilt had been full-sized I think I would have had a hard time putting it in the mail!  Lily is such a special girl, so I was excited to break out the special dresdens for her.  I probably won’t get to meet her for many months (she resides in Texas), so I had to send a little something to let her know I’m thinking of her.  I hope she likes it.

And I’m happy to say that Lily’s mommy likes it so much she has asked me to make one for her one of her boys!  I was so sad I learned how to quilt after the boys were born.  Can’t wait to get started on a blankie for Ty!

6 thoughts on “Welcome, Miss Lily!

    • Thank you, Melissa! And it really depends on the quilt. Once you get the hang of it and if you do simple squares and machine quilting, you can finish one in a week or so (and I usually work an hour here and there during week nights and really sit down and put hours in on the weekends).

  1. Molly, I love, love, LOVE what you did with this quilt. The quilting itself is stellar and an act of love. (I know what a pain all those intersections must have been!) English lacks adequate adjectives to describe it. =)

Leave a Reply

