A quilt for Nancy

I finally finished the quilt for my mother-in-law!  And I had the opportunity to give it to her yesterday since my husband and I headed back to WV last weekend to visit the family.  My grandmother isn’t well, so I wanted to go home for a few days to spend some time with her and give her my support.  Between trips to Granny’s house, I spent time with my mom, Casey’s family, my sister-in-law and niece, and my friends who still live in my hometown.  It was a nice break from the day-to-day despite concerns about my grandma’s health.  She seemed to get better each day, so hopefully that trend will continue.

Just a few more words about the quilt–it’s very much like the quilt I made for my cousins’ new daughter, Lily–just bigger and with different color accents.

I used some of the dresdens that my mother-in-law, Nancy, purchased for me from an antique store in Ypsilanti, MI.   I quartered the dresdens, ironed the edges to a point, added centers, and appliqued them onto light blue cotton squares.

The sashing is a Kona cotton in snow, and the binding and backing fabrics are from Denyse Schmidt’s new line of fabrics for JoAnn’s.

Quilting has definitely been a part of my family’s traditions, but Nancy is the first person who really sat down and helped me learn the nuts and bolts of quilting.  If it hadn’t been for her, I don’t know that I would have had the courage to try it.  She is also such a generous and thoughtful woman, buying me the latest quilting gadgets and gizmos for birthdays and Christmas, and always sharing what she has.  As a matter of fact, I would have never tried spray basting a quilt, but Nancy bought me a bottle of Tailor quilt basting spray and I tried it out on her quilt.  I don’t think I’ll ever baste without it again!  I was glad to finally have the opportunity to make something for her as a way of showing my love and appreciation.

Thank you, Nancy!  I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

