special gifts

My friend Renee very recently brought a new little one into this world.  I can’t wait to meet Olivia.  Until then, I sent off a little gift…some quilted hexagon bibs.

These were so much fun to make.  I wanted to go with a nontraditional color scheme, and Renee always looks so good in blues, so I thought maybe Olivia would like them too!  Here are some close-ups so you can see some of the details:

And here are the backs:

I hope Miss Olivia had a gentle journey into this world.  Renee has posted some photos of the little one and she looks quite beautiful and content.  I hope to meet her when I visit West Virginia next month!

I also had the opportunity to be a part of another very special gift.  One of my favorite roller derby pals, Rock Candy (derby name), approached me about helping her make a very special Father’s Day Gift for her husband (derby name Candyman!).  This is his first Father’s Day.  Their little one, Ava, was born last fall.  You may remember Ava from a post last fall about a gumdrop pillow that I made for her!  So Rock wanted to transform one of her husband’s old button-up shirts into a dress for Ava.  Such a sweet idea!  She found a pattern (the Poppy Dress Pattern) off of Etsy, and voila!

I added some contrast fabric at the hem to make it a little more fun and feminine.  I also did skinny straps at the top out of the contrasting fabric instead of doing the halter strap that was specified in the pattern.  I thought it would give little Ava room to grow and perhaps she could wear the dress a little longer.  Here is the back (before I added the straps).  It required some gathering with elastic, something I haven’t tried before.  It took a couple of attempts, but I love how it turned out!

And I used Heather Bailey’s Pop Garden Scrap Flower tutorial to make a little flower to go on the front.  I also made a flower out of the shirt cuff (like the one in the pattern) with a little pearl button in the center, and put a velcro attachment on both flowers so she could switch them out.

I was so honored to help Rock Candy with her Father’s Day project!  And happy first Father’s Day, Candyman!

3 thoughts on “special gifts

Leave a Reply

