The Pirate’s Daughter quilt

My mom bought this beautiful print to hang in the room of her house that my 7-yr-old niece, Amelia, and I share when we visit.

Image

It’s called “The Pirate’s Daughter”, by Maia Larkin.  Mom shared the image with me and asked me if I would be interested in making a quilt for our room inspired by the painting.  This is a quilter’s dream!  I’m so excited to get started.

As I have a list of other quilts I want to make for friends who are having babies, I won’t be working on this one right away, but I have (of course) already started daydreaming about patterns and fabrics.  I’m thinking about using the washed out grey tone as the dominant color, and incorporating an array of vivid shades from the rainbow to reflect the pop of color in the painting.  Here are some of the colorful fabrics I’ve been thinking about.

Image

Image

Image

And perhaps I will finally tackle Denyse Schmidt’s Single Girl quilt pattern for this quilt?

Image

Here it is in a grey with bright, bold colors and beautiful hand stitching (by see lori sew).

Image

I also like this quit with a simple triangle design of grey and bright colors by Red Pepper Quilts.

Image

Also, what about this cute fabric for the backing?

Image

And I don’t want to get too literal, maybe black and white striped binding to match the little lady’s socks?

Image

Let me know if you have any thoughts/ideas!

 

P.S.  Can you tell I’m not very focused on my dissertation writing today?  Got back late last night from an awesome roller derby tournament with my league’s B-level travel team, The Motor City Disassembly Line.  Feeling pretty tired and beat up…will be more diligent tomorrow!!!

4 thoughts on “The Pirate’s Daughter quilt

  1. I really love, love, love the ring quilt, but I can see how the triangles look a little like sails. Both could work.

Leave a Reply

