cousin quilts

My family is having babies like crazy, and I am so happy to have welcomed two new cousins in the last few months, Payden and Obadiah. My Aunt Judy sent me a sampling of the beautiful collection Baby Jane by Moda and I’ve been dying to play with it, so I thought why not split it up by some of the color groupings and make a couple of patchwork quilts for these sweet babies.

DSC02810

Payden is my cousin Lena’s son.  Lena and her husband Josh are organic farmers, so I was very excited to discover some vintage fabric with farming images on it while estate sale shopping with my cousin Melissa outside of Houston a few months ago.

DSC02814

I also had a sweet vintage ladybug/bumblebee fabric that was gifted to me from a dear friend that fit in perfectly.

The other quilt is for my cousin Kat’s new addition, Obadiah.  DSC02815

Kat’s favorite holiday is the 4th of July, so I thought the red, white, and blue color combination might suit her little one well.

I had so much fun working on these quilts, and I wish I would have been able to hand them off in person, but alas my new life in Texas makes it more difficult to see my family as often as I would like.

DSC02817

I can’t wait to meet my two new cousins.  Until then, I hope these tokens of my affection provide something soft to crawl on as they start to make their way in the world.

DSC02816

2 thoughts on “cousin quilts

Leave a Reply

